Horse Trials

Every August, back in Hartpury, Gloucestershire, a three day eventing trial occurs. Eventing, in the horse world, is a combination of three major equine disciplines: Dressage, Show Jumping and Cross Country. It originated in the military and was introduced as an Olympic sport in the early 20th century.

So what exactly are these different stages?

Dressage: I like to think of this as a sort of ‘dance’ between the horse and rider. The rider learns a series of steps and then performs in a school at the start of the competition.

Show Jumping: Large jumps, made up of poles and often set up to look pretty with flowers and small shrubs. The horse jumps a course of jumps with a time limit.

Cross Country: My all-time favourite to watch and photograph! Horses jump a series of solid fences, such as large logs.

I take a trip every year to the eventing and just adore it. Since I was really young I’ve had horses and been to riding lessons, but I’ve never had the courage to take part in eventing or cross country. So I just watch and let my imagination go wild. Last year was such a great year – sunny and the jumping was incredible. It was the first year I have been with a DSLR camera and I was enjoying trying out the action shots. Some of these are a little blurry but I just really loved taking the pictures.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Not only am I trying to get better at photography, but I also I adore drawing horses and observing their anatomy. Legs are the hardest to draw so I’m still practising!

I can’t wait for Hartpury in a few weeks.

~Kia

Leave a Reply

